Tags

, , , , , , ,

It pains me greatly to hear the debate about immigration and illegal aliens
in the USA.  It pains me greatly at the thought that illegal aliens may b
e granted soimmigrationme form of amnesty.

About 4 years ago, I signed Form I-864, Affidavit for Support.  This is a necessary form allowing someone entrance into the USA. A necessary document for the immigrant to receive their “Green Card”.

By signing this agreement, I accepted the legal responsibility for financially supporting the immigrant if it becomes necessary.  Now the real message.  If I do not provide sufficient support, the immigrant can sue me.  If the immigrant receives any “means-tested public benefits”, I am responsible for the repayment, or the agency can sue me.

My personal obligation lasts about 10 years.

Here’s the rub.  Granting a waiver to illegal immigrants bypasses the Form I-864.  Bypasses financial obligation of a sponsor.  So, I followed the law and potentially place me and my family in financial peril.  By signing the Form I-864, the immigrant has greater legal recourse than I have.  Think about it, I can get sued by the immigrant or an agency that provided financial support.  I get nothing.

Why was I so foolish to sign this document? My daughter met and married a young man from another country. Shortly thereafter, they gave became parents. Unfortunately, my daughter did not have the financial history to be his sponsor into the USA.  After much consideration and prayer, I did what I thought was good best and right for my daughter and grandson.

I had a series of conversations with my son-in-law about the implications of this important step.  Youth and naiveté abounded.  In his (and her) eyes, it’s just a piece of paper.  A formality.  I reminded him that even upon a divorce, I still carried the financial responsibility.

Ah, the marriage didn’t last.  It crumbled quickly.  They never made it to their 3rd anniversary before the divorce was finalized.  He and I are still attached at the hip financially.  My obligation does not end with divorce.  No it lasts about 10 years.  I’m not at the midpoint yet.

I do things the right way.  I follow the immigration laws and I am at risk.  We have illegal aliens in all regions of the USA and consideration is being given to them and their families for some form as amnesty.  Will Uncle Sam waive my responsibility?  Don’t bank on it!!

I am not a heartless person. Yet, I am having a difficult time with this illegal alien thing.

That’s the way I see it.

