Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been doing a little reading, thinking, and planning. See, I own a small business, it’s doing good, but I want it to do better.  Who wouldn’t?

I stumbled upon an interesting piece of information, built upon it, and am now in the process of initiating positive change.

Here is a fun fact.

The top five flavors of ice cream, according to International Ice Cream Association are:

  • Vanilla
  • Chocolate
  • Butter Pecan
  • Strawberry
  • Neapolitan

The amazing fact is the difference between 1st and 2nd place.  Vanilla received 29% of the first place votes.  Second place chocolate had 8.9%.  That’s 20 points difference between first and second.  Wow, that’s a huge gap.

I harkened back to my youth and looked up some information about Avis Rent a Car. Back in the early 1960s Avis produced an ad campaign with the tag line “When you are only No. 2, you try harder, or else”.  Signs, buttons, etc. carried the words, “We try Harder”.

Fun facts, in 1963, Hertz the No.1 Company had 61% of the market and Avis had 29%.  Wow, what a huge gap between the two companies. By 1963 the gap was closed to 49% to 36%, Avis was still No. 2.  This is still a sizable gap, but not as large.

So, where am I going with this?

In business don’t allow yourself to be fooled.  Don’t pat yourself on the back because you are second.  There is a large difference between being No.1 and No.2.  Being No. 2, is good, but not good enough.

I said that I owned a small business, AC Trash Hauling & More.  We have a nice website.  It’s effective, after all people visit it.  It generates work. With this new found information about the difference between 1st and 2nd, I did a web search.  I looked up “Trash Hauling Company Noblesville Indiana.”  I discovered that there were only 137,000 hits on that search.  Fortunately, I ranked 4th.  What about that poor soul at 137,000.  They are lost and will never be found.

I came to the understanding that Good Enough Isn’t Good Enough.  You see, on the search I conducted there were a whole bunch of GOOD hits.  Good isn’t Good Enough.  With the power of search engines a potential customer can find a whole lot of GOOD companies.  If I were to move down that list only a few notches, I may never be noticed.  I’m still a GOOD company.

Where does all this lead to?  The answer is simple.  Regardless of who we are, or what we do, we must strive for excellence.  We must strive to be great.  Being good will only get you lost in the crowd.  We must change our attitude, “Good Enough Is NOT Good Enough”. Avis had it right, try harder.

That’s the way I see it.

